Save PDI Coalition

The Save PDI Coalition arose in response to the threat of the sale of Peterborough Distribution Incorporated, the well respected electric utility owned by the city of Peterborough, to Hydro One. In spite of opposition to date the sale is now being rushed through council and it is possible that it could come to a vote in council in December, 2016. Council has so far been deaf to the comments made at various public council meetings and does not appear to be swayed by the wishes of Peterborough citizens as represented by this Environics poll that shows that 93% of the public opposes the sale.

The most potent tool that we have in this struggle is the power of democracy, and we must now exercise our democratic rights as forcefully as we can. The Save PDI coalition believes that the best way to influence this vote is for the 93% who oppose the sale to contact the mayor and the councillors from their ward. Contact them by phone and by email. Tell them that any councillor who votes in favour of the sale will not receive your vote in any future election.

Below are phone numbers and email addresses of the mayor and all the councillors taken from this page on the city’s web site. To make it easy, click the “Email a short message” link in the section under your councillor’s name. The default text of the message will be “This email is to let you know that if you vote in favour of the sale of PDI you will not receive my vote in any future election.” We encourage you to change the default message and add to it to reflect your own reasons for your opposition, and to include your name and address.

  • Darryl Bennett – Mayor
  • Lesley Parnell – Ward 1 – Otonabee
    • Email a short message
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4641
    • Cell » 705-931-1272 –
    • E-Mail » lparnell@peterborough.ca
  • Dan McWilliams – Ward 1 Otonabee
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4644
    • Business » 705-743-4597
    • Cell » 705-927-8746
    • E-Mail » dmcwilliams@peterborough.ca
  • Henry Clarke – Ward 2 – Monaghan
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4611
    • Business » 705-743-3260 x3525
    • Home » 705-749-3149
    • E-Mail » hclarke@peterborough.ca
  • Don Vassiliadis – Ward 2 – Monaghan
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4645
    • Cell » 705-875-2402
    • E-Mail » dvassiliadis@peterborough.ca
  • Dean Pappas – Ward 3 – Town
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4613
    • Home » 705-931-3619
    • E-Mail » dpappas@peterborough.ca
  • Diane Therrien – Ward 3 – Town
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4646
    • Cell » 705-872-7905
    • E-Mail » dtherrien@peterborough.ca
  • Keith Riel – Ward 4 – Ashburnham
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4640
    • Home » 705-743-8715
    • E-Mail » kriel@peterborough.ca
  • Gary Baldwin – Ward 4 – Ashburnham
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4647
    • Cell » 705-760-1428
    • E-Mail » gbaldwin@peterborough.ca
  • Andrew Beamer – Ward 5 – Northcrest
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4642
    • Home » 705-743-8004
    • E-Mail » arbeamer@peterborough.ca
  • Dave Haacke – Ward 5 – Northcrest
    • Email a short message.
    • Voice Mail » 705-742-7777 x4648
    • Cell » 705-741-6608
    • E-Mail » dhaacke@peterborough.ca